Board of Governors

These are your elected officers, serving the European Branch of the American Counseling Association.


A. Elizabeth Crunk, Ph.D., NCC

Dr. Elizabeth Crunk is an Assistant Professor of Counseling at The George Washington University in Washington, DC, where she also maintains an active grief counseling practice. Her research bears on complicated grief, grief coping, and grief counseling competencies in counselor training. She is the Chair of the Grief Counseling Competencies Task Force, in partnership with the Association for Adult Development and Aging, and has published articles on diverse issues in bereavement in national, peer-reviewed journals. Elizabeth currently serves as the President of the European Branch of the American Counseling Association (EB-ACA) and is committed to enhancing the grief counseling competencies of mental health professionals across the globe.


Steve Bain, D.Min., LPC-S, NCC

Immediate Past-President

Mercedes Ballbé ter Maat, Ph.D., LPC, ATR-BC

Dr. Steve F. Bain is a Licensed Professional Counselor, LPC Intern Supervisor, and a National Certified Counselor (NCC). He serves as an Associate Professor of Counseling and the Chair of the Department of Educational Leadership and Counseling at Texas A&M University-Kingsville. Dr. Bain’s research interests and clinical experiences include rural mental health counseling, graduate student success, global rural mental health, and mental health issues related to teens and young adults.

Mercedes is a professor in the Department of Counseling at Nova Southeastern University’s College of Psychology in Ft. Lauderdale. She has over 30 years of combined working experience as a counselor educator, mental health counselor, school counselor, and art therapist. Mercedes participates in local, state, national, and international leadership undertakings and actively participates in humanitarian work, most recently in Argentina, Swaziland, Lebanon, and Peru. She is a past-president of the American Art Therapy Association, the current president of the Croatian Art Therapy Association, and the immediate 

past-president of the European Branch of the American Counseling Association. Mercedes is a licensed professional counselor and a board-certified/registered art therapist. 


Amber Lange, Ph.D., LPC, CAADC

Amber Lange, Ph.D.  is a Licensed Professional Counselor, and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. She is currently chair of the Counselor Education and Supervision program at Capella University. She has been providing counseling services since 2005. Before her counseling career she was the creator and director of a drop-in, part-time, child care center. She has extensive training and experience in treating adults and youth. Her expertise includes trauma, grief, and loss; chemical dependency; infidelity, and work/life balance. Her experience includes both community counseling and private practice work.

She is an active participant within her counseling association and is an advocate for the counseling profession. Additionally, she has been teaching in higher education since 2004. Dr. Lange is a known speaker. She speaks on topics such as relationships, divorce, alcoholism, domestic violence, and addiction. She has researched, published and utilized a therapy dog in counseling. She also is working with several school counselors utilizing a dog in the schools.


Taska Dobson, LPC

Taska Dobson is a Licensed Professional Counselor. She is a new professional and

completed her graduate studies in 2014 with a Master of Arts in Mental Health

Counseling. She completed her post graduate experience working with various

populations including hospice, college students and private practice contract work.

Mrs. Dobson is a member of the California Association for Licensed Professional

Clinical Counselors (CALPC) as well as the American Counseling Association

(ACA). Prior to her counseling career, she was a scientific researcher working in

research and development. Mrs. Dobson’s expertise includes grief and loss, stress

management, and the military lifestyle. She currently serves as an active volunteer

with multiple military programs while living abroad.

Board of Governor's Member

Brad Erford, Ph.D., LCPC, NCC, LPC, LP, LSP

Brad is a professor in the school counseling program of the Department of Human and Organizational Development in the Peabody College of Education at Vanderbilt University. He was the 2012-2013 President of the American Counseling Association (ACA). He has authored or edited more than 30 books. His research specialization falls primarily in development and technical analysis of psycho-educational tests and outcomes research and has resulted in the publication of more than 70 refereed journal articles, more than 100 book chapters, and 15 published tests. He has received numerous awards for his scholarship and service to the counseling profession from the ACA and the Association for Assessment and Research in Counseling (AARC), organizations within which he has held numerous leadership positions.

Board of Governor's Member

Rachael Marshall, Ph.D.

Rachael C. Marshall is an Assistant Professor at California State University, Sacramento. She has worked with EB-ACA on social media after attending the 57th Annual EB-ACA Conference in Geneva Switzerland. After finishing her master’s degree in Mental Health Counseling, she worked at Nashville State Community College as an academic counselor. Her work brought out her interest in career counseling, with first-generation college students, immigrants, and international students. She then completed her PhD in Counselor Education from the University of Tennessee Knoxville. She currently works at Sacramento State to pedagogically develop coursework for identity development for future counselors and explores contemplative practices, wellness. burnout, and community collaborations. 

Board of Governor's Member

Jill Van Horne PhD, (LPCS, RPTS, NCPSC, NCC, EAGALA certified

Jill Van Horne is Director of the Professional School Counseling Program and Assistant Professor at Appalachian State University.  She has over 20 years of school counseling and clinical mental health experience integrating multi-sensory approaches working with children and adolescents. Her professional interests include extending dialogue between professional school counseling and the clinical mental health disciplines.

Board of Governor's Member

Coralis Solomon, Ph.D., LMHC, NCC

Dr. Coralis Solomon is a Licensed Mental Health Counselor in the state of Florida and an Assistant Professor for Troy University at the Tampa Bay site. Her doctoral studies were completed at the University of Central Florida in Counselor Education.  Her dissertation research explored self-compassion and emotional resilience of minority teachers working in elementary schools.  In her private practice, Dr. Solomon specializes in individuals who suffer from anxiety, trauma, and depression. Her commitment to the mental health counseling field goes beyond private practice as she is a nationally and internationally recognized speaker and a published author in the subjects of mindful self-compassion and burnout prevention.